Friday, October 13, 2017

Big Library Read: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

Every couple months, OverDrive picks out a book and makes it readily available with no wait list for two weeks. The Big Library Read, as it is called, is here again, and this time around the freebie is a YA book: Chelsea Sedoti's The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett!

Now, through Oct 26, you can download the book here and start reading immediately. It's available to you, FREE through FCPL OverDrive, in eBook and eAudiobook formats. Prefer print or books on CD? Find those formats in FCPL's catalog.

If you'd like to compare experiences of the book with those of fellow FCPL users, please join us in the FCPL Goodreads group and chime in on the discussion thread.

We can't wait to see what everyone thinks of this one!

Missing



Every Friday we give a new book away. To get the book, it's simple: just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Friday through Sunday and winners are announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Free Fridays.)



Missing by Kelley Armstrong

The only thing Winter Crane likes about Reeve's End is that soon she'll leave it. Like her best friend did. Like her sister did. Like most of the teens born in town have done. There's nothing for them there but abandoned mines and empty futures. They're better off taking a chance elsewhere.

What Winter will miss is the woods. Her only refuge. At least it was. Until the day she found Lennon left for dead, bleeding in a tree.

But now Lennon is gone too. And he has Winter questioning what she once thought was true. What if nobody left at all? What if they're all missing?

Update: Congratulations to our latest winner, Kelsey L.!

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Unleash Your Story!

Have you heard the news?

We're holding a short story contest just for you!

Between now and October 31st, you can "unleash" your most creative, imaginative stories on our judges, for a chance to win some pretty great stuff. This contest is only open to teens.

See more details here, and/or enter below.


Friday, October 6, 2017

Now I Rise



Every Friday we give a new book away. To get the book, it's simple: just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Friday through Sunday and winners are announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Free Fridays.)



Now I Rise by Kiersten White

A SISTER FILLED WITH RAGE
Lada Dracul has no allies. No crown. All she has is what she’s always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares cross her. She storms the countryside with her men, but brute force isn’t getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed, the defiant Ottoman sultan, brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.

HER BROTHER CAUGHT IN THE CROSSHAIRS
Lada needs the support of her diplomatic younger brother, Radu. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it’s no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. And for the first time in his life, when Lada asks him for help, he refuses . . . leading his sister to make the darkest of choices.

THE ULTIMATE POWER PLAY
Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, Radu knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, would Mehmed ever forgive him?

As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir’s A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won’t want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel—the second in the And I Darken series.

Update: This new book goes to Stephanie R.!

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Coming soon: FCPL's Pumpkin Decorating Contest!


We hope you can carve out some time to be creative this month, because we're holding a pumpkin decorating contest!

In partnership with the Friends of the Fresno County Public Library, starting October 9 we cordially invite our customers to spread seasonal joy and enter to win by sharing pictures of themselves with the masterpieces they've created on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, using the hashtags #fresnolibrary and #fcplpumpkincontest.

Full contest rules will be announced soon (be on the lookout for this post!), but for now we wanted to give you all a head start on coming up with creative, competitive pumpkin designs.

We will be accepting decorated and/or carved pumpkins in two categories:

"Book Lovers"/Fiction-inspired 

Pay tribute to a favorite book character, recreate a key scene or element from a story or poem, or show your love for a favorite genre, craft your dream reading nook/library, with a pumpkin (or multiple)--as long as it has to do with books, libraries, or reading, it fits! 

Anything Goes!

Exercise your imagination and design the coolest, most original pumpkin you can think up! Pumpkins in this category do not have to be book or library-related.

Are you as excited as we are?