Friday, September 22, 2017

The Flame Never Dies



Every Friday we give a new book away. To get the book, it's simple: just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Friday through Sunday and winners are announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Free Fridays.)



The Flame Never Dies by Rachel Vincent

ONE SPARK WILL RISE. Nina Kane was born to be an exorcist. And since uncovering the horrifying truth—that the war against demons is far from over—seventeen-year-old Nina and her pregnant younger sister, Mellie, have been on the run, incinerating the remains of the demon horde as they go.

In the badlands, Nina, Mellie, and Finn, the fugitive and rogue exorcist who saved her life, find allies in a group of freedom fighters. They also face a new threat: Pandemonia, a city full of demons. But this fresh new hell is the least of Nina’s worries. The well of souls ran dry more than a century ago, drained by the demons secretly living among humans, and without a donor soul, Mellie’s child will die within hours of its birth.

Nina isn’t about to let that happen . . . even if it means she has to make the ultimate sacrifice.

Fans of Cassandra Clare and Richelle Mead will enjoy this sequel to Vincent's The Stars Never Rise.

Want this book? Fill out and submit the form below for a chance to win your very own copy!

Friday, September 15, 2017

Oculus Rift @ FCPL


Have you ever wanted to experience virtual reality?

We're happy to announce that, as part of a pilot project involving 90 participating libraries across California, you can now try out the Oculus Rift virtual gaming system at Fresno County Public Library's Sunnyside and Betty Rodriguez branches.

The series of programs debuted this past Wednesday at Betty Rodriguez Regional Library, and many other opportunities are scheduled throughout the fall.

If you'd like to join us for the Oculus Rift Virtual Gaming and League of Legends LAN Party this coming Wednesday. October 20 (6-8 pm), at Sunnyside Regional Library, 6 spots are still open at the time of this posting. Space is limited and these events are anticipated to be popular, so registration is required (you can easily register by clicking on the event links in our events calendar).

Browse future dates here.


#Antisocial



Every Friday we give a new book away. To get the book, it's simple: just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Friday through Sunday and winners are announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Free Fridays.)



Antisocial by Jillian Blake

What if your greatest secrets became public? For the students at Alexandria Prep, a series of hacks leads to a scandalous firestorm—and the students are left wondering whose private photos and messages will be exposed next. It’s Pretty Little Liars meets WikiLeaks.

Senior spring at Alexandria Prep was supposed to be for sleeping through class and partying with friends. But for Anna Soler, it’s going to be a lonely road. She's just been dumped by her gorgeous basketball star boyfriend—with no explanation. Anna's closest friends, the real ones she abandoned while dating him, are ignoring her. The endearing boy she’s always had a complicated friendship with is almost too sympathetic.

But suddenly Anna isn’t the only one whose life has been upended. Someone is determined to knock the kings and queens of the school off their thrones: one by one, their phones get hacked and their personal messages and photos are leaked. At first it's funny—people love watching the dirty private lives of those they envy become all too public.

Then the hacks escalate. Dark secrets are exposed, and lives are shattered. Chaos erupts at school. As Anna tries to save those she cares about most and to protect her own secrets, she begins to understand the reality of our always-connected lives:

Sometimes we share too much.

Update: Pachia V. is our lucky winner! Remember: If you didn't win and you're interested in this book, you can check it out at FCPL! Check back this Friday for our next giveaway.

Friday, September 8, 2017

Julia Defiant



Every Friday we give a new book away. To get the book, it's simple: just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Friday through Sunday and winners are announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Free Fridays.)



Julia Defiant, A Witch's Child Novel by Catherine Egan

Julia and a mismatched band of revolutionaries, scholars, and thieves have crossed the world searching for a witch. But for all the miles traveled, they are no closer to finding Ko Dan. No closer to undoing the terrible spell he cast that bound an ancient magic to the life of a small child. Casimir wants that magic—will happily kill Theo to extract it—and every moment they hunt for Ko Dan, Casimir’s assassins are hunting them.

Julia can deal with danger. The thing that truly scares her lies within. Her strange ability to vanish to a place just out of sight has grown: she can now disappear so completely that it’s like stepping into another world. It’s a fiery, hellish world, filled with creatures who seem to recognize her—and count her as one of their own.

So . . . is Julia a girl with a monster lurking inside her? Or a monster wearing the disguise of a girl?

If she can use her monstrous power to save Theo, does it matter?

Update: Congratulations, Kelsey L.!

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Photography Classes (Free!) at Clovis Library


Want to take better pictures of you, your friends, family, pets, and all of your fun shenanigans?

The Friends of the Clovis Library want to help!

They're sponsoring free photography classes at Clovis Library, taught by professional photographer, Marc Blake. Sept. 20, 27, and Oct. 4, 4-5:30 pm, Blake will visit the Library and teach 20 students how to use various techniques to create stunning photographs.

Want in on this? There are only a few requirements:
  1. You must be 13-18 years old to participate in the classes.
  2. You must register in person at the Clovis Library circulation desk. Register soon--space is limited!
  3. You must bring your own camera or camera-equipped device (ex. smartphone, tablet).

If you attend, be sure to share your photographic masterpieces with us here, or on other social media!